Spurs winger Andros Townsend denies diving against Swansea
TOTTENHAM star Andros Townsend has reacted angrily to suggestions that he dived to win the crucial penalty against Swansea City yesterday.
Swansea felt there was minimal contact when Townsend tumbled under a 57th-minute challenge from Jonjo Shelvey, with Michael Laudrup accusing the winger of going "down easily".
Roberto Soldado scored from the spot to give Spurs a 1-0 victory.
And though Townsend was denied a definite penalty in the first half, Swansea were unhappy about referee Neil Swarbrick's decision to award the decisive spot-kick.
But Townsend has taken to Twitter to defend himself, tweeting: "Embarrassing that I'm getting tweets saying that I dived!
"Shelvey clearly stuck out his right leg and made contact with my left #blatentfoul (sic)."